A piece of my heritage

Hello again,

As you may have guessed from my last name, I am Dutch as well as Canadian. Both sides of my family are from the Netherlands. My dad actually immigrated to Canada when he was 18 and my mom’s parents immigrated here before they had kids. I am very grateful to my parents for teaching me about my heritage and the culture of where my family comes from while I was growing up. I am proud to be Canadian but also proud of my Dutch heritage. I could talk about this for a long time probably but I will stop here before you get bored with me. lol

The other day I noticed a pair of wooden clogs on the shelf and thought how neat it would be to take a photo of them. My dad loves wearing wooden shoes because they are apparently so comfortable but hasn’t worn any in a long time since his last pair fell apart years ago. I am not sure but I think he hasn’t bought any more because they are too expensive here once they have been imported. That is, if you can even find them here to buy in the first place. This particular pair was given to us by someone (for one reason or another) but they are too small for my dad so that is why they were on the shelf and still in such good shape. 🙂

wooden clogs_edited-1

This entry was posted in Taken with Canon Rebel T5i and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment